What Am I Watching?

You found my first post! Way to go!

As we’re getting to know each other here, I thought it might be a good time to let you know a little bit about what I’m binging, rewatching, and discovering for the first time. As I build this blog and dive into the depths of television’s great, big-ole anthology, I hope to grow this list as large as I can. But for now, here’s what I’m currently obsessed with.

THE BIG THREE:ย 

You gotta have your top contenders. While I love anything that can make you laugh and cry at the same time, these are the three shows that I could absolutely not live without;

  1. Louie (FX) – I wouldn’t be here without this show. The first series that ever made me google a television review (who does that? Me. All of the time now.) – I am constantly inspired and impressed by the self-described “anthology of short films” (LINK) that makes up this beautiful, depressing, hilarious series. Every hiatus breaks my heart, but the artistry that goes into this personalized masterpiece makes every episode a gift to my little, dark comedy-loving heart. This show transcends its genre and elevated the “standup/series” genre that Seinfeld made so popular. It’s my favorite tv show of all time.
  2. Veep (HBO) – It’s only second place because “Louie” literally changed my life. I’m incredibly obsessed with this show. Mondays are my favorite day of the week only because that’s when I can sit down with my boyfriend’s mother’s HBOgo log in and check in on this absolutely perfect, cringe-worthy comedy. I legitimately had to start playing a sudoku puzzle in the middle of a Season 6 episode because I was so uncomfortable. Now that’s comedy. AND DON’T GET ME STARTED (oh no, no you’ve got me started) on the genius that is Julia Louis-Dreyfus (hereafter referred to as JLD because I have to spell-check her name constantly). Every season is as strong, and powerful, and choke-on-your-dinner funny because she has crafted Selena Meyer into the funniest bitch I’ve ever seen. I didn’t know what was going to happen after series creator, Armando Iannucci, left, but David Mandel has grasped the helm with a vicious and inspired grip and Seasons 5 + 6 have been standouts in this stellar, stellar run.
  3. Arrested Development (Fox/Netflix) – Sorry, haters, I lovedย Season 4.ย ย I’ll be spending more time on that later, but this show is one of the most incredible comedies of all time and it aired inย 2003. Dangerously ahead of its time, it has been a gift to the streaming services like Netflix because the more you rewatch it, the greater it becomes. If you haven’t seen the NPR chart tracking EVERY RUNNING JOKE EVER, here is a link, you are welcome. With a stellar cast, genius writers, and a never-ending trove of jokes, both buried and outright, this show is an amazing feat of talent and attention to detail.

What else do I love?ย 

Here are some more shows/specials that you will definitely be reading about in the weeks/months/years? (ugh commitment is scary) to come…

Search Party (TBS), Silicon Valley (HBO), The Office (NBC/BBC), Parks and Rec (NBC), 30 Rock (NBC), Girls (HBO), Master of None (Netflix), Lady Dynamite (Netflix), Late Night with Seth Meyers (NBC), The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (CBS), The Daily Show with Trevor Noah (Comedy Central), Full Frontal with Samantha Bee (TBS), It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia (FXX), Sherlock (BBC), House of Cards (Netflix), Freaks and Geeks (NBC)…

And of course, some stand up comedy:

Louis CK’s “Live at the Beacon Theatre” and “2017”, Zach Galifianakis’ “Live at the Purple Onion”, John Mulaney’s “The Comeback Kid”, Maria Bamford’s “The Special Special Special” and “Old Baby”, Mike Birbiglia’s “My Girlfriend’s Boyfriend” and “Thank God For Jokes”, and, of course, David Cross’ “Making America Great Again!”

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

